Emmylou Harris

Emmylou Harris

Emmylou’s incredible voice can be heard in the background of many T.V. shows as her haunting lyrics often fit the drama going on on the screen remarkably well!I first came across Emmylou when I borrowed Gram Parsons’ “G.P.” album many many years ago. Her voice just commanded my attention and I went out and bought all her back-catalog. For many years afterwards she was my undisputed favorite artiste, although I much prefer her earlier albums when she sang ‘real’ country. From ‘Wrecking Ball’ onwards, I haven’t always been as impressed, but she will always remain near the top of my list. For full info on Emmylou you can’t beat www.Emmylou.netbut there are many other sites dedicated to this outstanding singer.

I have seen Emmylou in concert many times in my native England and have never failed to be moved and totally enraptured at her performance. I was lucky to have lived in a country where Emmylou got national attention, and her music was played on mainstream radio, I have just watched a fascinating BBC documentary about her (“From A Deeper Well” – read about that HERE) and an old concert from the seventies. My favorite album of hers? Phew! That’s a tough question, but thank you for asking. I LOVE “Elite Hotel” and “Thirteen” (why isn’t that available over here?) but my favorite is JUST “Last Date“. Favorite individual track? Oh NOW you’re asking! So many….. but I’ll choose the basic simplicity of “Making Believe”. 

Leave a comment