Choose one favorite song of all time…..

Favorite songs come and go – in my case all the time. There’s always the song of the day playing inside my head, and I can’t help but sing along to it – out loud, much to the annoyance of certain of my work colleagues! But those songs come and go as my mood changes.

There are SOME songs, however, that ALWAYS stay with me and this article concerns those SPECIAL songs! The ones that always top my charts, that I can play time and time again and never get sick of. So please choose the ONE song that is your all-time favorite. Post a comment to tell me what that song is.

MY short list contains songs from most genres. Sandy Denny’s “Who Knows Where The Time Goes?” in folk music – Alison Moorer’s “No Next Time” from Country, Gregory Isaacs’ “Night Nurse” in reggae, Albinoni’s “Adagio In G Minor For Strings” from classical music, The Manhattans’ “Kiss And Say Goodbye” from soul music. I could go on (and usually do when it comes to music) but to cut to the chase, the ONE song that I nearly always come back to when asked to name my TOP FAVORITE song of all time is “Love Will Tear Us Apart” by Joy Division. I always go for sad songs, and this is about the saddest of them all, written by Ian Curtis, in the midst of his marital problems, and recorded only a few months before he took his own life. Sung to a pounding beat, this song gets me every time. Let me know YOUR favorite!

Love Will Tear Us Apart – The Best of Joy Division

Other people’s choices: Chozen Love: “Vanished” by Crystal Castles.

April 15th 2012

In response to many requests, I have now expanded the favorite song request to your TOP TEN!  Here’s MY list. This is the top NINE after Joy Division’s “Love Will Tear Us Apart.”

Neil Young – Heart Of Gold

Prelude – After the Goldrush

Kirsty MacColl -They Don’t Know

Emmylou Harris – Goodbye

Leonard Cohen – Famous Blue Raincoat

Massive Attack – Unfinished Sympathy

Kirsty MacColl – A New England

The McGarrigles – Schooldays

Love – Alone Again Or

and I could go on for hours with more………..

3 Comments

  1. Chozen love

    My favorite song of all time would have to be Vanished by Crystal Castles.

    • mistycicero

      I love crash into me by dave matthews

  2. Scott Wilson

    Hard to determine a FAVOURITE song of all time but if I had to choose one that I could play one over and over again, it’d have to be Iris by Goo Goo Dolls. Woefully underused in the film City of Angels but undoubtedly the best song from it and the song that really got the Goos noticed.

Leave a comment